Loading Events

« All Events

Virtual Event Virtual Event
  • This event has passed.

Melbourne Digital Concert Hall: Christopher Pidcock & Edward Neeman – Final Sonatas

4 August @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm AEST

Virtual Event Virtual Event

Bringing two Canberra musicians together and the final instrumental sonatas of Beethoven and Shostakovich, this concert is dedicated to those who are feeling the weight of the lockdowns currently in place. From the Gulags of Siberia, to the tragedy of Beethoven’s Adagio, these works touch on lost freedom, self-reflection and hope.

All box office proceeds from this live-streamed performance go straight to the artists.


  • Christopher Pidcock – Cello
  • Edward Neeman – Piano


  • Ludwig van Beethoven – Sonata for cello and piano No. 5 in D major, Op. 102, No. 2, written in 1815
  • Allegro con brio
  • Adagio con molto sentimento d’affetto – Attacca
  • Allegro – Allegro fugato
  • Dmitri Shostakovich – Sonata for viola and piano, Op. 147, written in 1975, arranged C. Pidcock
  • 1. Moderato
  • 2. Allegretto
  • 3. Adagio


4 August
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm AEST
Event Categories:
, ,
View Event Website
Online Concert