Impressive roll-call of performers is announced for this year’s APRA AMCOS Awards

Australia’s most prestigious awards for new music, The APRA AMCOS Art Music Awards, which annually celebrates the greatest achievements of Australian composers and performances has announced a varied and exciting roster of performers and presenters for this year’s final taking place on the August 26 at the Plaza Ballroom in Melbourne. This year the awards coincide with the 40th Anniversary of the Australian Music Centre, whose work supporting musicians and composers across Australia in multiple genres has played a central role in the development and success of many of the finalists nominated. Nominees include Matthew Hindson, Brett Dean, James Ledger, Andrew Ford and Mary Finsterer, who leads the tally of nominations with three award nods.

Recorder virtuosos and long-time advocate of Australian new music, Genevieve Lacey, has once again been engaged to curate the evening, and she has delivered an eclectic selection of artists, featuring innovative collaborations between some of this year’s finalists and acclaimed ensembles.

The Australian National Academy of Music Orchestra will join awards finalists Nigel Westlake & Lior Attar (Work of the...