The 2020 recipients of the Art Music Fund have been announced, with 10 composers each taking home a share of the $100,000 allocation. This year’s recipients are Kristin Berardi, Leah Blankendaal, Olivia Davies, Aviva Endean, Madeleine Flynn and Tim Humphrey, Thomas Meadowcroft, Maria Moles, Jodi Rose and Jon Rose.

Aviva Endean Clarinet player, improviser, composer and performance-maker Aviva Endean. Photo © Sarah Walker

The Fund, which is administered by APRA AMCOS, aims to create commissioned work that is complemented by an exploitation program, such as touring or recording. “As working conditions for our members are changing dramatically on a global scale, we’re pleased to provide some certainty to support the creation of new work this year through the Art Music Fund,” said Jana Gibson, APRA AMCOS Head of Member Services. “An incredible selection of compositions have been identified reflecting a diverse range of talented composers and themes. We look forward to experiencing the stories they’ll share with us at the completion of these projects.”

The announcement comes as artists around Australia, and the world, are struggling with fallout from the COVID-19 pandemic, including cancelled concerts and tours.

“Receiving the Art Music Fund during COVID-19 has...