APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre have announced the 2021 recipients of the Art Music Fund. Alexandra Spence, Alice Chance, Brenda Gifford, Celeste Oram, Ellen Kirkwood, Mary Rapp, Nardi Simpson, Noemi Liba Friedman, Stephen de Filippo and Tilman Robinson will each receive $5000 towards the commission of a new work.

Art Music Fund Recipients The 2021 Art Music Fund Recipients. Image courtesy of APRA AMCOS

“It’s inspiring to see the vibrant creative energy of the Australian art music community evident in the list of the 2021 recipients of this life-giving fund,” said Genevieve Lacey, Chair Person of the Australian Music Centre. “It’s particularly exciting to see Nardi Simpson and Brenda Gifford, both alumni of Moogahlin Performing Arts and the AMC’s Ngarra-Burria program, continuing their stellar compositional careers. Heartfelt thanks to APRA for creating opportunities for Australian composers, and congratulations to all — can’t wait to hear the music.”

“I would like to commend this year’s Art Music Fund recipients, who continue to push artistic boundaries, explore new musical ideas, and pursue collaborations locally and globally even in times of uncertainty,” said...