APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre have announced the nominees for the 2016 Art Music Awards

APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre have announced the nominations for the 2016 Art Music Awards, recognising contemporary art music written, composed and performed in 2015.

Sydney-based new music group Ensemble Offspring has received a number of nods in the nominations this year. The dynamic group has been nominated for the Award for Excellence by an Organisation – up against the Arcko Symphonic Ensemble, Speak Percussion and ABC Radio National’s The Music Show – and Artistic Director Claire Edwardes has been nominated for the Award for Excellence by an Individual section, for performance, advocacy and artistic leadership. Ensemble Offspring is also mentioned in the Instrumental Work of the Year category as the performers of Tristan Coelho’s read/write error, which is up against Michael Kieran Harvey’s Patañjali, Natalie Williams’ Saudade and Kate Neal’s Semaphore. Damien Ricketson – Ensemble Offspring’s former Co-Artistic Director – won the section last year for his immersive performance collaboration with Ensemble Offspring, The Secret Noise.

Composers Elliott Gyger, Paul Grabowsky and Andrew Schultz are nominated in a number of categories, and there are a swathe of nominees who are joining the list of finalists for the first time. These include Catherine Milliken, Louise Devenish, Kate Neal, Tristan Coelho, Laurence Pike and Mike Nock, Natalie Williams, Erik Griswold, Semaphore band and dancers, Andrée Greenwell, and SCEGGS Darlinghurst. Another first timer is the Goldner String Quartet, nominated for their performance of Paul Stanhope’s Third String Quartet.

“The people included in these lists, and indeed across all the nominations lodged, represent our champions, and those who champion our champions,” said the AMC’s CEO John Davis. “The names of those established and emerging, in cities and in regional areas, show that we have much to celebrate in the Australian art music sector.”

The winners will be announced on August 16 at the Plaza Ballroom in Melbourne, at an event hosted by Jonathan Biggins with music curated by Gabriella Smart. The Award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music, won in 2014 by Richard Gill, will be announced before the event.

Presented by APRA AMCOS and AMC

Vocal / Choral Work of the Year

Title:                  Fly Away Peter
Composer:        Elliott Gyger
Text:                  Pierce Wilcox, after the novel by David Malouf
Performed by:   Sydney Chamber Opera

Title:                  Le Molière Imaginaire, for eight voices
Composer:        Andrew Schultz
Text:                  Timothy Knapman, after the final scene of Molière’s ‘Le Malade Imaginaire’
Performed by:   I Fagiolini

Title:                  Malala
Composer:        Paul Jarman
Performed by:   PLC Sydney Chamber Choir and soloists

Title:                  Paradise, five songs for soprano, cello and piano
Composer:        Andrew Schultz
Performed by:   Felicitas Fuchs (soprano), Qin Li-Wei (cello) and Bernard Lanskey (piano)

Jazz Work of the Year

Title:                  Beginning and End of Knowing
Composed &
Performed by:    Laurence Pike and Mike Nock

Title:                   Nyilipidgi
Composer:         Paul Grabowsky and the Young Wägilak Group
Performed by:    Paul Grabowsky, the Young Wägilak Group and the Monash Art Ensemble
Publisher:          J Albert & Son

Title:                  Spiel
Composed &
Performed by:   Paul Grabowsky and Niko Schäuble
Publisher:         J Albert & Son

Title:                   Water Pushes Sand
Composers:       Erik Griswold
Performed by:    Erik Griswold, Vanessa Tomlinson, Australian Art Orchestra and Sichuan musicians

Instrumental Work of the Year

Title:                  Patañjali
Composer:        Michael Kieran Harvey
Performed by:    Michael Kieran Harvey, Arabella Teniswood-Harvey and Eugene Ughetti with yoga asana by Arjun von Caemmerer

Title:                  read/write error
Composer:        Tristan Coelho
Performed by:    Ensemble Offspring

Title:                   Saudade
Composer:         Natalie Williams
Performed by:    Doric String Quartet and Pavel Haas Quartet

Title:                  Semaphore
Composer:        Kate Neal
Performed by:    Semaphore band and dancers

Orchestral Work of the Year

Title:                   Darkest Light
Composer:         Mary Finsterer
Performed by:    Monash Academy Orchestra

Title:                   Earth Plays
Composer:         Catherine Milliken
Performed by:    Bavarian Radio Orchestra, Fiona Campbell, soloist, Peter Rundel, conductor

Title:                   From Joyous Leaves
Composer:         Elliott Gyger
Performed by:    Arcko Symphonic Ensemble, Zubin Kanga, soloist, Timothy Phillips, conductor

Title:                   Jerusalem (after Blake)
Composer:         Georges Lentz
Performed by:    Sydney Symphony Orchestra, David Robertson, conductor
Publisher:           Hal Leonard/Universal Edition

Performance of the Year

Performer:         Goldner String Quartet
Title:                  String Quartet No 3
Composer:        Paul Stanhope

Performer:        Semaphore band and dancers
Title:                 Semaphore
Composer:       Kate Neal

Performer:       Louise Devenish
Title:                Electroacoustic Music For One Percussionist
Composers:    Warren Burt, James Hullick, Stuart James, Andrián Pertout and Lindsay Vickery

Performer:      Sydney Chamber Opera
Title:               Fly Away Peter
Composer:     Elliott Gyger

Award for Excellence by an Organisation

Arcko Symphonic Ensemble for presenting From Sorrowing Earth, a celebration of Nigel Butterley

Ensemble Offspring for 2015 activities and sustained services to Australian music for 20 years

Speak Percussion for their 2015 Program: Performance, Commissions, Collaborations and Education

The Music Show (ABC Radio National) for promotion, discussion and analysis of Australian music over 25 years

Award for Excellence by an Individual

Andrée Greenwell for her work as composer and Artistic Director of Green Room Music

Claire Edwardes for performance, advocacy and artistic leadership

Peter Knight for sustained contribution through composition, performance and leadership

Ros Dunlop for her sustained contribution to Australian music for over 30 years

Award for Excellence in Music Education

Artology for the Fanfare Competition

Australian Art Orchestra for the Creative Music Intensive residency project

Queensland Music Festival for the Cape York Instrumental Program

SCEGGS Darlinghurst for the Compose 120 Projects

Award for Excellence in a Regional Area

Moorambilla Voices for the Moorambilla Voices 2015 Tenth Anniversary Season

Queensland Music Festival for Under This Sky, a large scale production in the community of Logan

TURA New Music for the 2015 Reflection Tour to regional, remote and very remote Australia

Tyalgum Music Festival for the 2015 Tyalgum Music Festival

Award for Excellence in Experimental Music

Clan Analogue for Intone: Voice Abstractions

Decibel for After Julia program

Leah Barclay for WIRA River Listening

Speak Percussion for 2015 Music Program

Award for Excellence in Jazz

Alister Spence Trio for CD recording Alister Spence Trio: Live

Australian Jazz Real Book for the Australian Jazz Real Book

Mark Isaacs for sustained contribution over four decades and 2015 Queensland Regional Tour

WA Youth Jazz Orchestra for an outstanding 2015 annual program

Marquee TV: Get 3 months for the price of 1