The annual APRA AMCOS Awards celebrating “diversity and vibrancy” sees increase to first time nominees this year.

The finalists of the 2015 Art Music Awards have been revealed, and this year has seen a significant increase in the number of first time nominees. The list of hopefuls for this year’s coveted gongs was whittled down from over 200 nominations. The annual awards, organised jointly by the APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre, recognise the “diversity, excellence, craftsmanship and creativity” found within Australia’s contemporary classical, jazz and experimental music scenes.

Moorambilla Voices, Jazz composer Paul Grabowsky (Work of the Year: Jazz, 2014), Synergy Percussion and the West Australian Symphony Orchestra have faired most favourably this year, appearing in several of the awards’ categories. All of the nominees “demonstrate the diversity and vibrancy of creative practice,” said Australian Music Centre CEO John Davis, with “a level of excellence that we are immensely proud of.”

Moorambilla Voices

With almost 34% of this year’s nominations being given to first-timers, a significant increase on previous year’s ratios, emerging talent such as Dan Walker, Lachlan Skipworth and Joseph Twist rub shoulders on the nominees list with more seasoned figures such as Paul Stanhope, Carl Vine and Elena Kats-Chernin.

Hosted by television and radio presenter Fenella Kernebone, the 2015 ART Music Awards will take place on August 11 at City Recital Hall, Sydney, with music performances curated by Genevieve Lacey.

Vocal/Choral Work of the Year

Title: Afterwards
Composer: Stephen Adams
Performed by: Sydney Chamber Choir & Claire Edwardes

Title: How Shall We Sing in a Strange Land?
Composer: Joseph Twist
Text: Oodgeroo Noonuccal
Performed by: National Youth Choir of Australia, Australian Boys Choir & The Vocal Consort

Title: Mass of Deliverance
Composer: Dan Walker
Performed by: Leichhardt Espresso Chorus, Sydney Brass, Michelle Leonard conductor

Title: The Riders
Composer: Iain Grandage
Text: Alison Croggon, based on the novel by Tim Winton
Performed by: Victorian Opera

Jazz Work of the Year

Title: Love Like a Curse
Composer: Paul Grabowsky
Performed by: Monash Art Ensemble (MAE)
Publisher: J Albert and Son Pty Ltd 

Title: Mujing
Composers: Simon Barker, Carl Dewhurst, Bae Il-Dong, Riley Lee, Matt McMahon and Phil Slater
Performed by: Simon Barker (drums), Carl Dewhurst (guitar), Bae Il Dong (vocalist), Riley Lee (shakuhachi), Matt McMahon (piano), and Phil Slater (trumpet)

Title: Music for Average Photography
Composer: Mace Francis
Performed by: Mace Francis Orchestra (MFO)

Title: Pius Bartosik
Composer: Daniel Susnjar
Performed by: Daniel Susnjar Afro-Peruvian jazz group

Instrumental Work of the Year

Title: Piano Trio ‘The Village’
Composer: Carl Vine
Performed by: Sitkovetsky Trio
Publishers: Hal Leonard Australia Pty Ltd/Faber obo Faber Music Ltd

Title: Shadow Box (Concert version)
Composer: Damian Barbeler
Performed by: Genevieve Lacey and James Crabb

Title: The Nightingale and the Rose
Composer: Paul Grabowsky
Performed by: Paul Grabowsky and Genevieve Lacey with the Flinders Quartet
Publisher: J Albert and Son Pty Ltd

Title: The Secret Noise
Composer: Damien Ricketson
Performed by: Ensemble Offspring

Orchestral Work of the Year

Title: Concerto for clarinet and orchestra
Composer: Lachlan Skipworth
Performed by: West Australian Symphony Orchestra, Ashley Smith soloist, Baldur Bronniman conductor

Title: Dramatis Personae – Music for Trumpet and Orchestra
Composer: Brett Dean
Performed by: Håkan Hardenberger, soloist, Brett Dean conductor, Sydney Symphony Orchestra
Publishers: Hal Leonard/Boosey & Hawkes Group obo Bote Bock Der Boosey Hawkes Bote Bock Gm

Title: Elastic Band – for solo improvised violin and orchestra
Composers: Elena Kats-Chernin and Jon Rose
Performed by: Jon Rose with Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, Ilan Volkov conductor

Title: Jandamarra – Sing for the Country
Composer: Paul Stanhope 
Librettist: Steve Hawke
Performed by: Brett Weymark, Simon Lobelson, Singers and Dancers of the Yilimbirri Ensemble, GondwanaChoirs and Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Performance of the Year

Performer: Ashley William Smith soloist, West Australian Symphony Orchestra, Baldur Bronniman conductor
Title: Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra
Composer: Lachlan Skipworth

Performer: Michael Kieran Harvey
Title: Luz meridional, Twenty-four Études for Pianoforte, no. 411 
Composer: Andrián Pertout

Performer: Synergy Percussion
Title: Beauty Will Be Amnesiac Or Will Not Be At All
Composer: Anthony Pateras

Performer: West Australian Symphony Orchestra, Michael Stern conductor
Title: Concerto for Orchestra
Composer: Carl Vine

Award for Excellence by an Organisation 

Gondwana Choirs for the 2014 artistic program, and significant contribution to Australian music since 1989
Moorambilla Voices for the 2014 program and contribution to musical life in remote New South Wales
Sydney Chamber Choir for 40 years of outstanding contribution to Australian choral music
Synergy Percussion for 40 years of Synergy Percussion in 2014

Award for Excellence by an Individual

Jeanell Carrigan for resurrecting the piano music of Meta Overman
Julian Day for excellence in researching, broadcasting and presenting the work of Australian musicians to a broad national and international public on broadcast and print media outlets
Peter Knight for leadership, composition, performance and curation
Ross Edwards for his contribution to Australian chamber music

Award for Excellence in Music Education 

Lorraine Milne for sustained contribution to music education
Moorambilla Voices for education work in North West New South Wales
Sydney Symphony Orchestra for TunED-Up!
Topology for Top Up music education program

Award for Excellence in a Regional Area

Boyd and Alison for Coalface 2014
Moorambilla Voices for Moorambilla Voices Program 2014
New England Conservatorium of Music for New England Sings!
Tyalgum Music Festival for 2014 activity

Award for Excellence in Experimental Music 

Darrin Verhagen for activity/projects
Jon Rose, Ensemble Offspring, Speak Percussion for Ghan Tracks
Luke Johnson for Ornate Boredom Machine
Richard Johnson for the SoundOut Festival of Experimental and Improvised Music

Award for Excellence in Jazz 

Alister Spence, Christopher Cantillo and Joe Williamson for Begin
Julien Wilson for recording and touring associated with the establishment of Lionsharecords
PBS 106.7FM for The Young Elder of Jazz Commission
Peter Knight for leadership, composition, performance, curation

Marquee TV: Get 3 months for the price of 1