Joseph Tawadros, Genevieve Lacey and Marshall McGuire were among the winners at last night’s 2021 ARIA Awards, livestreamed from a ceremony at Sydney’s Taronga Zoo.

Genevieve Lacey and Marshall McGuire

Marshall McGuire and Genevieve Lacey. Photo © Josh Robenstone

Lacey and McGuire won Best Classical Album for their ABC Classic release Bower. In his 4.5-star review for Limelight, Will Yeoman described it as “a horizonless haven filled with objects of delight”.” Clearly Limelight’s readers felt the same way, as Lacey was a runner-up in the People’s Choice category of our Australian Artists of the Year awards.

Their fellow nominees for Best Classical Album were Christian Li for Vivaldi: The Four Seasons (Decca Records Australia/Universal Music Australia, Emily Sun & Andrea Lam for Nocturnes (ABC Classic), Grigoryan Brothers for This is Us: A Musical Reflection of Australia (ABC Classic / Universal), and Nat Bartsch for Hope (ABC Classic / Universal)

Joseph Tawadros continued his incredible success at the ARIAs, winning a second consecutive award for Best World Music Album for his independently-released Hope In An Empty City. Tawadros has now won six ARIA Awards, including five in the World Music category and one for Best Soundtrack.

Joseph Tawadros (front) and his brother and frequent collaborator James (rear).

Best Jazz album went to Melbourne-based, psychedelic jazz fusion group Mildlife for their album Automatic.

The big winner on the night was Genesis Owusu, the stage name of Ghanian-Australian Kofi Ansah-Owusu. This is the first time he has been nominated for an ARIA and he took home four awards: Album of the Year, Best Hip Hop Release, Best Independent Release and Best Cover Art. He is also the first hip-hop artist to ever win Album of the Year.

2021 ARIA Fine Arts Awards Winners

Best Classical Album

Winner: Genevieve Lacey and Marshall McGuire – Bower (ABC Classic / Universal)
Christian Li – Vivaldi: The Four Seasons (Decca Records Australia/Universal Music Australia
Emily Sun & Andrea Lam – Nocturnes (ABC Classic)
Grigoryan Brothers – This is Us: A Musical Reflection of Australia (ABC Classic / Universal)
Nat Bartsch – Hope (ABC Classic / Universal)

Best Jazz Album

Winner: Mildlife – Automatic (Inertia Music / [PIAS])
Australian Art Orchestra, Reuben Lewis, Tariro Mavondo & Peter Knight – Closed Beginnings (AAO Recordings/The Planet Company)
Kristen Beradi, Sean Foran & Rafael Karlen – Haven (Earshift Music / The Planet Company)
Petra Haden & The Nick Haywood Quintet – Songs from my Father (ABC Jazz / Universal)
Vazesh – The Sacred Key (Earshift Music / The Planet Company)

Best World Music Album

Winner: Joseph Tawadros – Hope In An Empty City (Independent / The Planet Company)
Bob Weatherall & Halfway, with William Barton – Restless Dream (ABC Music)
Bukhu – Bukhchuluun Ganburged – The Journey (Bukhu/Distrokid)
Eishan Ensemble – Project Masnavi (Earshift Music / The Planet Company)
Kuya James – ISA (Settle Down Records / MGM Distribution)

Best Original Soundtrack or Musical Theatre Cast Album

Winner: Angus & Julia Stone – Life Is Strange (BMG/WMG)
Antony Partos – Rams (Original Motion Picture Score) (ABC Music)
Caitlin Yeo, Maria Alfonsine, Damian de Boos-Smith – Wakefield Season One Official Soundtrack (MADBS Composing Palace)
Sia – Music: Songs From And Inspired By The Motion Picture (Atlantic Records / Warner Music
Yve Blake – Fangirls (ADA/Warner Music)

See the full list of ARIA Award winners at the ARIA website.