The Sidney Myer Creative Fellowships for 2021 have been awarded to nine Australian artists working in dance, performance, visual arts, writing, theatre and music.

They are: Alison Murphy-Oates (NSW), cultural leadership; Ellen van Neerven (QLD), literature; Eric Avery (NSW), music/dance; Hoda Afshar (VIC), photography; Jo Lloyd (VIC), dance, Joel Ma (VIC), music, multi-artform; Latai Taumoepeau (NSW), performance art; Michele Lee (VIC), theatre writing; and Tjungkara Ken (SA), painting.

Eric Avery

They will each receive a tax-free grant of $160,000 over a two-year period. The money is not tied to any specific outcome, instead the grants provide an income so that each Fellow has time to develop their creative practice without financial pressure.

‘’I am delighted to make this year’s announcement and extend my congratulations to these wonderful artists. It’s been a testing time for so many of us, and our arts community has suffered significantly with so many performances, exhibitions and theatres closed. It is my hope that this support will make a meaningful difference to support those that help us make sense of this world,’’ said Andrew...