The Kristian Fredrikson Scholarship for Design in the Performing Arts has awarded its 2022 scholarships to designers Paula Levis and Isabel Hudson. It is the first time that two scholarships have been presented in one year.

Isabel Hudson Paula Levis

The Fredrikson Scholarship was founded in 2008 by designer Anna French and a committee including Frank Van Straten, Richard Roberts, Sue Russell, Emily Collett and Hugh Colman. It aims to celebrate the career of the late Kristian Fredrikson, raise the profile of theatrical design in Australia, and provide career development opportunities for mid-career designers and the makers who realise their vision.

The Scholarship is awarded biennially with the recipient receiving $12,000 to pay for travel and study plans. Usually only one scholarship is presented but this year the standard was so high that the committee decided to select two recipients.

Levis, who is based in Victoria, plans to use the Scholarship to travel to Greece to attend the Kalamata Dance Festival, the Athens International Theatre Festival and visit major art and costume museums.

Hudson, who is...